About Us

Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics Staff & Postgraduate Directory

This directory includes the Alan Turing Building and Jodrell Bank Observatory.

Telephone:
For extensions 5xxxx, prefix 0161 27
For extensions 6xxxx prefix 0161 30
For extensions 26xx prefix 01477 57
For 22xx extensions contact the JBO switchboard on 01477 571321.

E-mail: Send to username@manchester.ac.uk or username@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk or username@jb.man.ac.uk as listed below

Jump to:

Directors

NameResearch AreaTelephone ExtensionEmail username
Prof Simon Garrington

Director of Jodrell Bank Observatory

54054, 69401

simon.garrington

Prof Albert Zijlstra Director of Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics
63925 albert.zijlstra

Academic Staff

NameResearch AreaTelephone ExtensionEmail username
Prof Richard BattyeCosmology/Theory54185richard.battye
Dr Robert Beswick e-MERLIN Project Scientist/Galaxies and Star Formation 50483,69412 robert.beswick
Dr Rene Breton Pulsars rene.breton
Prof Sarah Bridle Dark matter, Gravitational lensing, Universe expansion 54042 sarah.bridle
Prof Michael Brown Cosmology 63913 m.l.brown
Prof Philippa Browning Solar & Laboratory Plasmas63912philippa.browning
Prof Richard Davis Cosmic Microwave Background 54164 richard.davis
Prof Phil Diamond Director, Square Kilometre Array Project Office and Professor of Astrophysics at the University of Manchester philip.diamond
Dr Clive Dickinson
CMB, Foregrounds, Radio Astronomy, ISM, Intensity mapping 54232 clive.dickinson
Prof Gary Fuller Star formation, Millimeter & Sub-millimeter astrophysics & technology63653gary.fuller
Dr Keith Grainge Head of SKA group; Cosmology, Radio Astronomy, CMB 69654 keith.grainge
Dr Malcolm Gray Late-type Stars, Masers, Radiative transfer63967malcolm.gray
Dr Neal JacksonGravitational Lensing54080neal.jackson
Dr Scott KayCosmology54166scott.kay
Dr Michael KeithSKA and Pulsars54063michael.keith
Dr Eamonn Kerins Exoplanets and Gravitational Lensing 54191eamonn.kerins
Prof Michael Kramer Director of the Max-Planck-Institut fur Radioastronomie (MPIfR) and Professor of Astrophysics at the University of Manchester   michael.kramer
Dr Patrick LeahyCosmology, radio astronomy, AGN jets, Galactic magnetic fields 54115 j.p.leahy
Dr Myfanwy LloydCircumstellar Matter54085myfanwy.lloyd
Prof Shude MaoGravitational Lensing63912shude.mao
Dr Bruno MaffeiRadioastronomy Technology54141bruno.maffei
Dr Andrew Markwick Astrochemistry63971andrew.markwick
Prof Tim O'BrienAssociate Director of Jodrell Bank Observatory 54165, 69437 tim.obrien
Prof Lucio Piccirillo Radioastronomy Technology
54194 lucio.piccirillo
Prof Richard Schilizzi SKA, Active Galaxies 54055, 69663 richard.schilizzi
Prof Ben StappersPulsars 54187 ben.stappers
Dr Patrick Weltevrede Pulsars 54162 patrick.weltevrede
Prof Peter WilkinsonCosmic Microwave Background54129peter.wilkinson

Emeritus and Honorary Staff

NameResearch AreaTelephone ExtensionEmail username
Dr Bryan AndersonRadioastronomy technology2613bryan.anderson
Dr Robert Braun69665r.braun@skatelescope.org
Prof Ian BrowneIntensity Mapping, Active Galaxies and Gravitational Lensing54127ian.browne
Prof Rod DaviesCosmic Microwave Background & Ex-Director 54123 rod.davies
Prof Andrew Lyne Pulsars and Ex-Director 69423 andrew.lyne
Prof John MeaburnInter- & Circum-stellar matterjohn.meaburn
Prof Tom MillarVisiting Professor
Gresham Prof Ian Morison Optical Astronomy   ian.morison
Prof Alan Pedlar Galaxies   alan.pedlar
Prof Sir Francis Graham SmithPulsars & Ex-Director69471francis.graham-smith
Prof Ralph Spencer Technology and X-ray binaries 69438 ralph.spencer
Dr Peter ThomassonMERLIN Operations 69542 peter.thomasson
Dr Grigory Vekstein Plasma & Solar physics 64177 grigory.vekstein

SKA Group

NameResearch AreaTelephone ExtensionEmail username
Dr Bassem Alachkar Design Engineer, Modelling 69644 bassem.alachkar
Ralph Braddock M&C Engineer, working with TM for SADT side 69643 ralph.braddock
Jill Hammond Deputy Project Manager 69649 jill.hammond
Dr. Mitch Mickaliger Engineer mitch.mickaliger
Richard Oberland Lead Optical Engineer, SADT Project Engineer 69641 richard.oberland
Dr. Jayanta Roy Engineer jayanta.roy
Dr. Prabu Thiagaraj Engineer prabu.thiagaraj
Richard Whitaker SAT Engineer
Dr Althea Wilkinson Lead Project Manager 69640 althea.wilkinson

ALMA UK Regional Centre

NameResearch AreaTelephone ExtensionEmail username
Dr Adam Avison ALMA Regional Centre 54138 adam.avison
Dr George Bendo ALMA Regional Centre, dust and star formation in nearby galaxies 54258 george.bendo
Dr Tom Muxlow ARC Node Manager. Star-formation processes in nearby and high redshift galaxies 54108 tom.muxlow
Dr Anita RichardsALMA Regional Centre54243a.m.s.richards

Research Staff

NameResearch AreaTelephone ExtensionEmail username
Dr Megan Argo e-Merlin; Nearby galaxies mkargo@jb.man.ac.uk
Dr Marie-Anne Bigot-Sazy HI intensity mapping, CMB 54142 marie-anne.bigot-sazy
Bhaswati Bhattacharyya Marie Curie International Incoming Fellow, pulsars
Dr David Barnes AGN Feedback david.barnes
Dr Anna Bonaldi CMB/Component Separation and Planck 54087 anna.bonaldi
Dr Stefano Camera Theoretical and Observational Cosmology 54087 stefano.camera
James Cullen eMERLIN and VLBI 69422 james.cullen
Dr Prafulla Deo Quasi-optical and RF Components Development prafulla.deo
Dr Mykola Gordovskyy Solar Plasmas 54087 mykola.gordovskyy
Dr Ian Harrison Cosmology, Weak Gravitational Lensing 54195 ian.harrison-2
Dr Alastair GunnVLBI Operations69433alastair.gunn
Dr Paul HarrisonAstroGrid54124paul.harrison
Dr Christine JordanPulsars2674chris.jordan
Dr Hilary KayDaphne Jackson Fellow54145hilary.kay
Dr Lei Liu Technology (PAFs) lei.liu
Dr Mark McCulloch Technology 63677 mark.mcculloch
Dr Iain McDonald Evolved Stars 54145 Iain.Mcdonald-2
Dr Will McGenn Technology (LNAs) william.mcgenn
Dr Yin-Zhe Ma Intensity mapping 54124 mayinzhe
Dr Simon MelhuishResearch Fellow54121simon.melhuish
Dr Ming Wah Richard Ng Technology 54121 mingwah.ng
Dr Roger Noble MERLIN Software 69464 roger.noble
Dr Fabio Noviello Radioastronomy Technology, CMB 54087 fabio.noviello
Dr Francesco Pace Theoretical Cosmology francesco.pace
Dr Michael Peel CMB foregrounds54142michael.peel
Dr Benetge Perera Pulsars benetge.perera
Dr Mathieu Remazeilles CMB Foregrounds/Component Separation 54142 mathieu.remazeilles
Dr Rafal Szepietowski Cosmology, Weak Gravitational Lensing 54195 rafal.szepietowski
Christina Smith Evolved stars 54145 christina.smith
Dr Rowan Smith Star formation modeling. RAS Norman Lockyer fellow 54145 rowan.smith
Dr Sotirios Sanidas LEAP, EPTA, Cosmic Strings 54202 sotirios.sanidas
Dr Amitpal Tagore Lensing amitpalsingh.tagore
Dr Alessio Traficante IR and  Sub-mm Astronomy 54087 alessio.traficante
Dr Michael Troxel Weak lensing
Dr Matias Vidal CMB foregrounds / ISM 54124 mvidal@jb
Dr Bob Watson Planck Post-Launch Support 54142 bob.watson
Dr Joseph Zuntz Weak lensing, Cosmological Structure Formation, Statistical Methods 54087 joseph.zuntz

IT Development & Support

NameResearch AreaTelephone ExtensionEmail username
Dr Anthony HollowayHead of Computing54096,69426anthony.j.holloway
Dr Robert DicksonIT Manager54230,69426robert.c.dickson
Beverley HancockIT Support69426beverley.v.hancock

Scientific Visitors

NameResearch AreaTelephone ExtensionEmail username
Yaser Hafez (Sabbatical visitor, KACST) CMB experiments; radio astronomy
Dr Sandra EtokaMasers, Late-type Stars, Star formation54124sandra.etoka
Sarah Keith Planet and Star Formation 54144 sarah.keith
Dr Richard Long Galactic Dynamics and Gravitational Lensing richard.long
Dr Bryan Rees Galactic bulge PNe bryan.rees
Dr Magda Todorovic

HI Intensity Mapping, CMB Foregrounds, Anomalous Dust, ISM, Nearby Galaxies

54124 magdolna.todorovic

Operations/Engineering

NameResearch AreaTelephone ExtensionEmail username
Dr Mirza AsifTelescope Array Controller69448,69449,69460mirza.asif
James BartleTelescope Technician69405,69410james.bartle
Angela BayleySystems Programmer69409angela.bayley
Dr Mike BentleySenior Experimental Officer (links & developments)69411michael.bentley
Tony BlackburnLinks Technician 69413 tony.blackburn-2
Eddie BlackhurstReceiver Technician 69485 edward.blackhurst
Paul BurgessVLBI Operations69475paul.burgess
David ClarkeTelescope Technician69410,69457david.t.clarke
Philip ClarkeTelescope Technician69405,69410pclarke@jb
Ray ComberDeputy OiC (Telescope Engineering)69402ray.comber
John EdgleyRF Group Supervisor 69425 john.edgley
Adrian GaltressDraftsperson69427adrian.galtress
John HamiltonControl Room & Servo Lab Supervisor69435john.hamilton
Vic HaynesResearch Associate - Quasioptics and filters62495vhaynes@jb
Andrew HowsonTelescope Array Controller69448,69449,69460andrew.howson
Luke Invernon Telescope Array Controller 2660,2249 luke.invernon
Anthony JohnsonControl Technician69442ajohnson@jb
John KitchingEngineer (Mechanical)69403gjkitching
Joel LapiTelescope Technicianjoel.lapi
Christopher ManceTelescope Array Controller69448,69449,69460christopher.mance
Ian ManfieldTelescope Array Controller69448,69449,69460ian.manfield
Frank ManningElectrical Supervisor69404frank.manning
Jason MarshallCryogenics Technician 69458 jason.marshall
Leslie ParryDigital Technician69488,9473leslie.parry
Mark RobertsTelescope Array Controller69448,69449,69460mark.roberts
Darren Shepherd Mechanical Technician 54061 darren.shepherd
Sarah Smith RF Engineer 69487 sarah.smith
Matthew Stubbs Electrical Technician 69404 matthew.stubbs
Alan WilliamsTelescope Technician69405,69410alan.williams-2
Dr Richard Whitaker SKADS Engineer 69476 richard.whitaker

Administration/Support

NameResearch AreaTelephone ExtensionEmail username
Mike Anderson Site Manager/Safety Advisor JBO69490mike.j.anderson
Angela Linton Project Office 54189 angela.linton
Dave LomasJBO Building/Estates Superintendent69407dave.lomas
Sarah MorrisGeneral Office - JBO69429sarah.m.morris
Stephanie Plumb Admin Assistant 54214 stephanie.plumb
Pat StanwayGeneral Office - JBO 69400,69428,69429 patricia.stanway

Postgraduate Students

NameResearch AreaTelephone ExtensionEmail username
Shweta Agarwal Foregrounds/supernova remnants with CBI shweta.agarwal@postgrad
Samira Alharbi Planetary Nebulae samira.alharbi@postgrad
Abeer Almutairi Planetary Nebulae abeer.almutairi@postgrad
Supachai Awiphan Exoplanet Searches 54196 supachai.awiphan@postgrad
Makiko "Sherwin" Ban Sun, Stars and Planets   makiko.ban@postgrad
Helen Barker Planetary nebulae   helen.barker@postgrad
Hazel Blake Star formation   hazel.blake@postgrad
David Burns Solar Plasmas david.burns-3@postgrad
Tianyue Chen Pulsars tianyue.chen@postgrad
Adam Colclough Radio Intensity Mapping adam.colclough@postgrad
Lucas Colli Olivari Radio Intensity Mapping lucas.olivari@postgrad
Sally Cooper Pulsars sally.cooper@postgrad
Samuel Cusworth Cosmology 54196 samuel.cusworth@postgrad
David Cuadrado-Calle Technology david.cuadradocalle@postgrad
Michael D'Cruze Technology/RRLs michael.dcruze@postgrad
Constantinos Demetroullas Extragalactic 54144 costantinos.demetroullas@postgrad
Evans Eames Extragalactic evans.eames@postgrad
Ruth Evans ruth.evans-4@postgrad
Ho Ting Fung Technology hoting.fung@postgrad
Emily Hall emily.hall
Stuart Harper Extragalactic stuart.harper@manchester
Philippa Hartley Gravitational Lensing 54144 philippa.hartley@postgrad
Vic Haynes Technology 62495 Charles.Haynes
Fiona Healy Novae fiona.healy@postgrad
Monique Henson Galaxy formation monique.henson@postgrad
Leo Huckvale Sun, Stars and Planets leo.huckvale@postgrad
Prahesti Husnindriani Gravitational Lensing prahesti.husnindriani@postgrad
Sarah Keith Planet formation sarah.keith@
Michael Kennedy Cosmology michael.kennedy-5@postgrad
Matias Lackington Werner Star formation 54103 matias.lackingtonwerner@postgrad
Indy Leclerq Diffuse Galactic Emission indy.leclercq
Stephen Legg Radio Astronomy Technology Stephen.Legg@postgrad
Niall Maccrann Dark energy survey niall.maccrann@postgrad
Mateusz Malenta Pulsars mateusz.malenta@postgrad
Karenne Mata-Figueras Cosmology karenne.mata-figueras@postgrad
Catherine McGuire Infall Signatures and Massive Star-Formation 54144 catherine.mcguire@postgrad
James McKee Pulsars james.mckee@postgrad
Sofiya Mohamed Pulsars sofiya.mohamed@postgrad
Anna Nikiel Star formation anna.nikiel@postgrad
Monika Obrocka Pulsars/Technology 54202 monika.obrocka@postgrad
Aaron Peters Cosmology aaron.peters@postgrad
Josephine Peters Extragalactic josephine.peters@postgrad
Jonathan Quinn Extragalactic jonathan.quinn@postgrad
Jack Radcliffe AGN jack.radcliffe@postgrad
Karthigeyan Ramesh Kumar stellar abundances karthigeyan.rameshkumar@postgrad
Matthew Robinson Radio Astronomy Technology matthew.robinson-5@postgrad
Simon Rookyard Pulsars simon.rookyard@postgrad
Simon Samuroff Weak lensing simon.samuroff@postgrad
Ben Shaw Pulsars benjamin.shaw-4@postgrad
Hannah Stacey Lensing hannah.stacey@postgrad
Christopher Taylor Passive Millimetre-wave Imaging 54144 christopher.taylor-2@postgrad
Kate Voller Cosmology 54196 kate.voller@manchester.ac.uk
Charles Walker Pulsars charles.walker@postgrad
Christopher Wallis Extragalactic/Cosmology christopher.wallis@postgrad
Yidi Wang Pulsars
Kyle Warrington Stellar abundances kyle.warrington@postgrad
Lee Whittaker Extragalactic/Cosmology lee.whittaker@postgrad
Nick Wrigley e-MERLIN Project 54144 Nicholas.Wrigley@postgrad

Recent graduates

NameResearch Area DegreeYear
Kerry Hebden The Intriguing Chemistry of NGC 6302 PhD 2014
Melis Irfan The C-Band All Sky Survey (C-BASS) PhD 2014
Stefania Maccalli Development and testing of quasi-optical devices for Photon Orbital Angular Momentum manipulation at millimetre wavelengths PhD 2014
Mark McCulloch Enhancing the Noise Performance of Low Noise Amplifiers PhD 2014
Fahri Ozturk Modelling and experimentalstudy of millimetre waverefractive systems PhD 2014
Andrey Paska Chemical evolution of inner regions of protoplanetary disks around T Tauri stars PhD 2014
Peter Schemmel PhD 2014
Christina Smith PhD 2014
Amy Tyndall A Study of Planetary Nebulae Possessing Binary Central Stars PhD 2014
Matias Vidal Diffuse radio foregrounds: all-sky polarisation and anomalous microwave emission PhD 2014
Simon Pike Simulations of Galaxy Clusters with AGN Feedback PhD 2014
Mareike Haberichter Classically Spinning and Isospinning Non-Linear sigma-Model Solitons PhD 2014
Yun-Hak Kim MPhil 2014
Carl Roberts Test for substructure in the lensing galaxy of radio-quiet quasar lenses by radio imaging MSc 2014
Skandar Taj The chemistry of giant stars in the sagittarius dwarf spheroidal MSc 2014
Olivia Jones Dust production by evolved stars in the Local Group PhD 2013
Foteini Lykou Dusty discs around evolved stars PhD 2013
Richard Newton Simulating feedback from Active Galactic Nuclei in galaxies, groups and clusters PhD 2013
Dan Thornton The High Time Resolution Radio Sky PhD 2013
Lizette Guzman Ramirez A multifaceted exploration of planetary nebulae PhD 2013
Imran Mohamed The Application of Negative Refractive Index Metamaterials to mm and sub-mm Wavelength Instrumentation PhD 2013
Adam Stanier Magnetic Reconnection and Particle Acceleration in Semi-Collisional Plasmas PhD 2013
Phrudth Jaroenjittichai Pulsar Polarisation As A Diagnostic Tool PhD 2013
David Boulderstone Scaling relations of clusters of galaxies MSc 2013
Marion Mathelie-Guinlet Carbon, Oxygen and Hydrogen isotope fractionation in molecular clouds MSc 2013
Teo Mocnik The Unusual Central Star of the Planetary Nebula Sh2-71 MSc 2013
Andrew Jones Comparison of polycyclicaromatic hydrocarbonemission to hot and cold dust emission in M51, M83 and NGC 2403 MSc 2013
Rachana Bhatawdekar Observations with C-BASS MSc 2013
Lingjie Kong Dust Heating in Nearby Galaxies MSc 2013