Jodrell Bank Observatory - Transit of Venus 2004
Impression of the 2004 Venus transit with the dark disk of Venus passing in front of the solar disk

On the 8th of June, between 5.19 UT (6.19 BST) and 11.23 UT (12.23 BST), Venus passed between the Sun and the Earth. The last time this happened was on 6th December 1882. Find out more about the transit in the following sections:

The Sun | Venus | History | Science | How to Watch | TRANSIT IMAGES